Cancel

Kay Smythe

Menu

Featured Content

Mon
Aug
Monday, August 19

Britain: Why Aren't You Joining Extinction Rebellion? [are you the worst homeland ever?]

When I first moved to California in 2015, a year had passed since writing Swansea: the worst hometown ever. I did my due diligence after the shitstorm I caused, following up with a BBC interview for what turned out to be a wannabe article that barely notated an ounce of the real fuckery going on my hometown, let alone the shit going down in the country as a whole. The piece contained some of my worst writing, so I hope this essay angers people for the right reasons, because for as much as I used to hate Swansea, I really am at a loss with the UK right now. 

Half of my friends and social network have turned to spiritual practices as a means of dealing with the levels of stress they feel over our future, while the others sit idly back, watching the country burn. When I graduated from university, I left the UK with a real sense that change was happening, and that we would soon be leading the globe in renewable energies, restructuring society for the climate crisis, with new industries springing up every day in support. None of that has happened. The decline in our nation is all-encompassing, leading to new definitions being needed on what constitutes action, and what now constitutes a climate denier in the UK. 

Climate deniers can now be defined as anyone failing to appreciate the magnitude of climate chaos to the same extent as Extinction Rebellion. I don’t care what redtop tabloid wankers you choose to read, what studies you have completely misinterpreted, and what weather systems you are blindly ignoring: if you are currently in a passive state in your action against climate change, you are a climate denier. You’re also contributing to Britain being the worst homeland ever, and it’s time we all did something about it.