Cancel

Kay Smythe

Menu

Featured Content

Tue
Aug
Tuesday, August 27

Depression, Unconscious Bias, The End Of The World: Millennial Mindset

I’ve never written during a deep depression before. This particular interlude of self-hatred started on Tuesday, but is a fairly regular state of existence. This time was partly prompted by an argument, partly through fear for the future of our species, coupled with the redundancy of my own existence. After writing the first draft of this piece, I spent the rest of the day curled up on the sofa, debating between killing myself and staring vacantly ahead until it was bedtime. It’s been two weeks since the first draft was completed, and little has changed. 

Obviously I’ve written during depressions before - it’s just about the only thing I can do when I’m at the bottom of a big hole and no one is coming to save me. I’ve never written during one of these moments with the intent of publishing, though. Things might get a little honest, a little ugly, and come across a little cold, but that’s exactly how I feel right now. 

Attempting to seek purpose is as fleeting as the sensation of an orgasm. It comes in bursts, sometimes longer than usual, leading to actual change. Often times, purpose is half hearted and quickly runs out of steam. This same sensation is occurring within my social networks, and in those I hear, read, and see. Perhaps its because all of us are waiting for the next major setback in our evolution. Us Millennials had a fucking awesome childhood, but have been hit repeatedly through societal failures, and desperately need a win. 

I feel like I’ve been living without much purpose since about mid-2016. I graduated from university with absolutely no practical skills for application in traditional mainstream society. Like my peers I was passionate, driven, and cared enough about the planet to know that I had to pick one problem to solve, and run with it. I chose the people problem.